This is Jeff Bayer, and I don't update this site very often. If you'd like to listen to my current movie podcast you can find it at MovieBS.com.

Twilight honored as a "Film of Vision"

Twilight is a "film of vision" ... um, really? Average reviews, and it didn't explode at the box office, with a lot of staying power. I'm not saying the film doesn't have a huge following but doesn't that come down to two things ... the novel (a fun read) and Robert Pattison (from what I here, he's a looker). As always, awards are nice, and those who made the film should feel honored, but let's hope The Twilight Saga: New Moon steps it up a notch. Here's the news release.

"Twilight" will be hailed as a "film of vision" at the 36th annual Vision Awards, to be held June 27 at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills.

The event also will honor such entertainment figures as Lawrence Bender, Jim Walton, Matthew Weiner, Ian Sander, Kim Moses, Diane Ladd, Shonda Rimes, Jillian Michaels and Stephen Nemeth.

The event is presented by RP International, the non-profit organization, which fights Retinitis Pigmentosa and other blinding eye diseases,

Hosted by Daily Variety columnist Army Archerd, the event will feature a presentation by Larry King; former U.S. Congressman from Iowa Berkley Bedell; and a musical performance by Taryn Manning.

Honorees include Leader of Vision, Jim Walton, president of CNN Worldwide; Film Artist of Vision: Diane Ladd; Film Producer of Vision: Lawrence Bender; Producer of Vision -- Documentary: Stephen Nemeth; Producers of Vision -- Television: Ian Sander and Kim Moses and Matthew Weiner; Woman of Vision -- Entertainment: Shonda Rhimes; Woman of Vision -- Fitness Motivation: Jillian Michaels; Screenwriter of Vision: Grant Nieporte; Lester Sill Award-Composer/Editor of Vision: John Ottman; and Film of Vision: "Twilight," produced by Wyck Godfrey, Greg Mooradian, Mark Morgan and Guy Oseary.

The primary medical award being given out at the Vision Awards this year will be the Jules Stein Living Tribute Award, which goes to Dr. Shalesh Kaushal, MD, chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Massachusetts.

Source: Vision Awards

Up - Disney Digital 3D

Chris Pine to be Unstoppable with Denzel Washington, Tony Scott